Galatians 4:8-12

plant

Before you Gentiles knew God, you were slaves to so-called gods that do not even exist. So now that you know God (or should I say, now that God knows you), why do you want to go back again and become slaves once more to the weak and useless spiritual principles of this world? 10 You are trying to earn favor with God by observing certain days or months or seasons or years. 11 I fear for you. Perhaps all my hard work with you was for nothing. 12 Dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to live as I do in freedom from these things, for I have become like you Gentiles—free from those laws.

finger print

My Thoughts

Here is an interesting point – to be free is to be known by God! What does it mean to be known by God? Why would He even want to know me?  I have been so focused on knowing God that I never stopped to consider that He also knows me.  What does God know when he knows you?  If I see God as a big, scary judgmental deity that I need to earn His approval. I might  not be so willing to be known by Him.  He will see all the things I don’t like about myself.  He will point out my faults and show me my short comings.  I already know all those things so why do I need them pointed out or rubbed in. On the other hand, if I know God to be a loving Father who moved heaven and earth to restore my relationship with Him. Maybe just maybe He knows something about me that is worth saving.  What does God see in you, why did He give up His most treasured possession for you.  If you can know that about yourself then you will truly know freedom.

Leave a Reply

