Psalm 52

Poppy field

For the director of music. A maskil of David.

When Doeg the Edomite had gone to Saul and told him: “David has gone to the house of Ahimelek.”

Why do you boast of evil, you mighty hero?
Why do you boast all day long,
you who are a disgrace in the eyes of God?
You who practice deceit,
your tongue plots destruction;
it is like a sharpened razor.
You love evil rather than good,
falsehood rather than speaking the truth.
You love every harmful word,
you deceitful tongue!

Surely God will bring you down to everlasting ruin:
He will snatch you up and pluck you from your tent;
he will uproot you from the land of the living.
The righteous will see and fear;
they will laugh at you, saying,
“Here now is the man
who did not make God his stronghold
but trusted in his great wealth
and grew strong by destroying others!”

But I am like an olive tree
flourishing in the house of God;
I trust in God’s unfailing love
for ever and ever.
For what you have done I will always praise you
in the presence of your faithful people.
And I will hope in your name,
for your name is good.

My ThoughtsImage

This Psalm speaks to what we were talking about yesterday.  David’s sarcasm is clear about Doeg the Edomite… why do you boast in evil you mighty hero?  Life is difficult for David, an entire village of priests, their wives, their children and all their livestock killed because David misled a priest to help him.  I know that we have difficult patches in our lives.  I know we go through challenges and that our challenges are difficulties that we need to face.  I am not sure that any of my challenges have ever come close to what David is going through now, but what I do know is that my response to my challenges has often not been ideal.  This Psalm helps me keep perspective in difficult times… we need to speak out against injustice and proclaim truth when evil is turning the life around us into a form of hell. Our job however, is not to take justice or revenge into our own hands but allow God to administer justice.

I have often lost parts of my trust in God’s goodness because I feel like life is unfair, or that God is not doing what he should.  But the man after Gods heart responds like this… But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever. For what you have done I will always praise you in the presence of your faithful people. And I will hope in your name, for your name is good.

The first truth is that I (we) are flourishing because we are with God and in His unfailing love – no matter what our current circumstances.  The second truth is that God has been faithful so we have so much to remember, so much to be thankful for.  The 3rd truth is that because of these things there is hope in His name because His name is good.  May we have the orientation of our hearts adjusted? May our view of ourselves in God point us in a direction that always displays hope to those around us.

Leave a Reply

